TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award

Nobuhide Kasagi was a founding member of the TSFP conference series. The award was established after his untimely death in 2015. The TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award will recognize excellence and innovation for early career researchers (typically less than 10 years after PhD) for contributions to an area relevant to the TSFP Symposia.

From TSFP12, the TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award is sponsored by International Journal of Heat and Fluid Flow for which Prof. Kasagi served as the Editor-in-Chief for many years.

Late Prof. Nobuhide Kasagi
Int. J. Heat Fluid Flow

Submission details

The winner will be awarded a cash prize of $1000 and also be expected to give a keynote talk. Registration fee with be waived and accommodation for 3 nights will be provided. Finally, a stipend to partially defray travel costs may also be provided.

Nominations of TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award candidates should be sent by mail to mckeon[at]caltech.edu with subject "Kasagi award nomination".
The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2021.

The submission should contain the following two items:
  • A one page (maximum) nomination containing the following:
    • A brief (typically one-sentence) award citation (i.e. motivation why this candidate should receive the prize).
    • A short description of the main merits of the candidate and how these fits the award criteria.
    • A link to a Google Scholar profile page (preferred) or equivalent for the candidate.
  • The candidate's CV (no publication list, 5 pages maximum).
The above items should be merged to a single pdf nomination file to be mailed to the above given address.
The file name should be: SURNAME_Award_candidate2022.pdf

Selection process

The Kasagi Award Committee selected the TSFP-12 Award winner by voting of the Committee members based on the criteria of innovation, current and future impact of the nominees' work. The Chair did not vote. The Committee members had several conflicts of interest, which were mitigated by recusal from discussion and voting concerning the relevant candidates.

New Awardee

TSFP12 Nobuhide Kasagi Award Winner

Dennice Gayme, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Citation: "To Dennice Gayme, For deep insights in developing reduced models for wall bounded, turbulent dynamic processes."

Past winners

TSFP11 Nobuhide Kasagi Award Winner

Daniel Chung, University of Melbourne, Australia
Citation: "To Daniel Chung, For novel numerical simulations and insightful analysis to answer fundamental questions in turbulence."

TSFP10 Nobuhide Kasagi Award Winner

Marcus Hultmark, Princeton University, Princeton, USA
Citation: "To Marcus Hultmark in recognition of his enthusiastic and significant contributions to turbulence, its measurement and theory, and especially for profound contributions/developments which are influencing measuring technologies."